By Daine Mariel Chua


Days before the polls, the Commission on Elections (Comelec) remains unclear on recognizing the dominant majority party in the 2022 Elections between the factions of Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban), causing both to experience prioritized privileges of the distinction.
In the Comelec Resolution 10787 released on May 4 by the commission on en banc, it named PDP-Laban as the dominant majority party thus giving them the right to have first printed copies of election results. 

The resolution, however, did not specify the faction of the said party that shall be declared for election dominance, giving both the entitlement to the 5th and 7th copy of election returns and certificate of canvass, respectively.

PDP-Laban is composed of opposing factions, one led by Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi calling it the Cusi wing, and the other, the Pacquiao wing, headed by Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel III.

“Pending resolution of the petition…filed by Cusi wing of the PDP-Laban, the PDP-Laban shall be treated as one single political party for purposes of determining the dominant majority party, dominant minority party, and the ten major national party,” the resolution announced. 

Besides the primary copies of the election papers, the said factions will be guaranteed preference to canvassing centers if the available space becomes "insufficient."

On the other hand, Comelec Commissioner George Garcia eases growing uncertainty on the dominant majority party as he assures the "immediate" settlement of the petition.

“Basta in the meantime ngayon the election returns will be given to the PDP Laban, ayun na lang yung kulang sa tanong kung sino na lang sa dalawa ang kukuha ng isa sa mga kopya ng election returns,” the commissioner said.

Furthermore, the Comelec declared the other ten groups as the major political parties that will be given access to the remaining election returns: Liberal Party (LP), Aksyon Demokratiko (Aksyon), Nationalist People's Coalition (NPC), Lakas-Christian Muslim Democrats (Lakas-CMD), Partido para sa Demokratikong Reporma (PDR), the National Unity Party (NUP), Laban ng Demokratikong Pilipino (LDP), Partido Federal ng Pilipinas (PFP), Akbayan Citizens Action Party (Akbayan), and United Nationalist Alliance (UNA).

The Comelec claimed specific criteria were followed in determining the distinct parties  — which include the established record, incumbent elective officials, identifiable political organizations and strengths, ability of candidate slate completion, women candidates, and other circumstances defining the capabilities of the party.

Edited by Kyla Balatbat