By Lance Arevada

PHOTO: Aaron Favila

In a speech on June 17, President Rodrigo Duterte noted that there would be two Dutertes in the country's top seats of offices when his daughter, Vice President-elect Sara Duterte, will take her oath in Davao City on June 19.

Duterte even joked that the Duterte-Duterte tandem, which was proposed months before the 2022 Elections, should continue.

"So in about…11 days, ang Presidente ninyo Duterte, ang Vice President ninyo Duterte. Kaya sabihin ko kay Inday, ituloy na lang natin ito. Hindi, biro lang," the President quipped.

However, Article VII, Section 4 of the 1987 Constitution clarifies that the six-year term of the president and vice president "shall begin at noon on the thirtieth day of June next following the day of the election and shall end at noon of the same date six years thereafter."

On June 19, the planned date of Sara Duterte's inauguration, incumbent Vice President Leni Robredo will still hold the office as her term is not yet set to expire until the noon of June 30. 

Furthermore, presidents and vice presidents have long been jointly inaugurated in traditionally held ceremonies. The vice president-elect usually takes their oath minutes before the president-elect's oathtaking to secure the line of succession.

This is in the case of Vice President Jejomar Binay to President Benigno Aquino III, Vice President Noli De Castro to President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, and Vice President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo to President Joseph Estrada, among others.

However, Robredo and President Rodrigo Duterte broke tradition in 2016 by holding separate inauguration ceremonies. Robredo took her oath in her office, the Quezon City Reception House, hours before Duterte took his at the Malacañang Palace.